Tours and activities
Airport transfers
Hotel deals
  1. Fecha de llegada
  2. Fecha de salida
Cheap flights

London Underground

The London Underground (Tube) has a network of 11 lines and is the world’s first underground railway system. With 250 miles of lines, it won’t be hard to find a tube station near you, except if you stay in zone 3 or further away.

London Underground
London Underground station

London Underground during rush hour
London Underground during rush hour

Plano de metro de Londres
London Tube Map

In the UK, the subway or metro is called "Tube" or "Underground". 


London is divided into 9 zones that start in its historic center. Most top attractions are found in zone 1 and 2. Travelers will find Heathrow Airport in zone 6.

When you buy a single journey ticket for the Tube, you have to know what zone your stop is in and what zone you’re going to. Unless you’re staying in another zone, the most common zones for tourists to visit are 1 and 2.  


  • Zones 1-3: £4,80.
  • Zones 1-5: £5,80.
  • Zones 1-6: £6,00.
  • The zone 1-3 includes all stations between zone 1 and zone 3, zone 1-5 includes all stations between 1 and 5 and so on.

As you can see the fares for single-journey tickets are very expensive, so we recommend getting a Travelcard or Oyster Card.

Tube Map

Although you can get a map of the Underground in any Tube station once in London, you can check the following Tube map before getting to your holiday destination: 

Times and frequency

There is no set timetable for the tube in London, but it opens approximately at 5 am and closes at 12 am. Trains leave the first station at 12 am. Consequently, by the time it gets to the center it is normally after 12 am, so you’ll be able to take the last train at approximately 1 am.

Frequency depends on the different lines and the time of day it is, but in the centre of London you normally won’t have to wait more than 2 – 3 minutes to catch a train.

DLR and London Overground

The DLR (Docklands Light Railway) and the London Overground are two additional lines that despite having different names, are completely integrated into the London Tube network. If we include these two lines, London’s Underground has 13 lines.

These two lines are interesting for visitors as they both run to Greenwich.